I’m not too sure how much of this I’m allowed to talk about so I’ll keep it brief.

Previously as part of my Creative Industries Professional Practice module, I did a weeks worth of work experience at the Oxfordshire radio station, JACKfm (Read Day 1, 2, 3, 4, 5). This counted as a very worthwhile minor but mean that I still needed to find another minor to complete the industry element to the module (which is all combined with the essay).

After various attempts at finding work experience in the TV industry, an email from my lecturer stood out. It asked for ‘a talented and capable video editor to cut together a professionally filmed comedy play telling the life of Elvis as a Shakespearian tragedy for the Edinburgh fringe’. After editing various VT’s for Exposure TV, I thought this was a good chance to put all the practice to good use for a real life client.

My name in the final credits
My name in the final credits!

After receiving the footage, I had some issues with the file format, being in a Canon MTS file and completely unrecognised by Final Cut Pro. A few quick Google searches (And a failed call the uni tech department) I found a way to convert to various MOV files.

I viewed it all and just about got my head round what needed to go where. I also sent a few e-mails to the Director, Nancy, getting a copy of the script just to make sure I didn’t miss anything out. Other than this, I was given fairly free rein to use the footage provided and hopefully create something they would be impressed with and would show the performance off best.

This opportunity to edit someone else’s footage has been extremely helpful. It’s taught me how to use their shortlists and documents to speed up the editing process of content I’ve never seen before. I was able to use of the various camera angles, audio channels and re-takes shot by the camera operator to create some interesting scenes. It’s also shown me how much I enjoy the editing process. Its something I really get engrossed into, putting hours of focus in to try and perfect each element and overcome the issues that come up

